Auto Insurance In-Depth Home
 


Connecticut Auto Insurance

Unfortunately, the state's drivers pay a lot for car insurance. This is why it's important to understand your coverage options, and to get the most mileage from premium dollar. (ie.: save money)


This guide:

Explains the basic auto insurance laws and requirements in place in CT

Describes how Connecticut car insurance rates are set

Helps you save money with multiple quotes


See How Much You Could Save:


Save $300-400 or more with discount rates from all major auto insurance carriers, as well as local companies in Connecticut.

It takes just one minute. Enter your zip code to start:
 

ZIP Code:



A look at the state's insurance regulations

Connecticut is a tort state, which means that if you drive in the state, you're financially responsible for the damage and injury you cause in an auto accident. Connecticut auto insurance laws require that all drivers carry liability coverage to meet this financial responsibility.

The state's liability minimums are 20/40/10. (That's $20,000 per person for injuries you cause to the other party, up to $40,000 for all, and $10,000 for damage you cause to the other party's property.)

Connecticut auto insurance laws also require uninsured and underinsured motorists bodily injury coverage in the minimum amount of 20/40 ($20,000 per person, up to $40,000 total).

You can boost this policy with "underinsured motorist conversion coverage", which keeps your coverage amount from being reduced by the underinsured driver's liability coverage. (Which is how underinsured motorists coverage usually works.)

Carrying higher levels of both liability and un/underinsured motorist coverage is highly recommended.

Connecticut auto insurance companies will also offer optional coverages such as medical payments, collision, comprehensive, and full glass coverage. (Full glass covers breakage with no deductible.)

For better or for worse, the price of Connecticut auto insurance is decided by the behavior of all the state's drivers as a whole. Auto insurance companies take the cost of providing coverage for Connecticut drivers (this includes settlements and legal fees, as well as administrative and other costs) and divide it up among the drivers.

But the cost isn't spread around evenly. Instead, the percentage you pay is decided by things like your driving record, your age, where you live, and the kind of car you drive.

Of course, not all auto insurance providers figure their percentages the same way. This means that they will charge different rates on the same driver.

What this means for you as a driver, is that you need to shop around, and compare the different rates (and they'll be very different!) for the best deal. It's the fastest and easiest way to save on your auto insurance policy.

Where you can get Connecticut auto insurance quotes.

Get quotes by ZIP Code: enter your ZIP below to get a quote from a provider right in your neighborhood:

ZIP Code:



More CT car insurance advice and help

If you want more help designing your CT auto insurance policy, read our guide to setting safe and reasonable car insurance coverage levels.

For more information about CT auto insurance laws and regulations, visit the official website of the State of Connecticut Insurance Department.



Want to learn even more?

Take our quick auto insurance course, and learn the step-by-step to get the most out of your auto insurance policy for the least amount money.

Just ten easy lessons - start today










Auto insurance leads for agents | Site map


©Copyright 2002-2011 Auto Insurance In-Depth LLC


This wrebsite provides general information for educational purposes only and is not intended to be legal advice. We make no guarantees as to the validity of the information presented. Your particular facts and circumstances, and changes in the law, must be considered when applying insurance law. You should always consult with a competent auto insurance professional licensed in your state with respect to your particular situation.