Save $300-400 or more with discount rates from all major auto insurance carriers, as well as local companies in Florida.
It takes just one minute. Enter your zip code to start:
Florida auto insurance laws
Florida is a partial no fault state. The no-fault portion of your coverage pertains to bodily injuries, meaning that in the event of an accident, each party is responsible for their own medical bills and other costs related to the injuries sustained in the accident.
In turn, your right to sue the other party is limited.
Florida auto insurance laws require all drivers to carry property damage liability and personal injury protection (PIP) policies. Property damage liability covers the damage you cause to another's property, and you must carry a minimum of $10,000 in coverage.
PIP covers your injury-related expenses, regardless of who was at fault in the accident. Covered benefits include some compensation for necessary medical expenses, lost wages, lost services, and funeral expenses.
$10,000 worth of PIP is required, although you may be able to increase your benefits by purchasing more. Some drivers may choose to decrease their premium by applying a deductible to the coverage or by excluding the loss of wages benefit.
Florida auto insurance laws may also require that certain drivers carry bodily injury liability. This coverage helps pay for the cost of injuries you cause to another in an auto accident. Drivers with previous accidents or violations may be required to carry this type of coverage.
Bodily injury liability (BIL) carries a minimum of 10/20. (That's $10,000 per person for injuries you cause to the other party, up to $20,000 total.) However, these are only minimums, and higher limits are recommended. Drivers who aren't required by law to purchase BIL are strongly urged to consider doing so for their own financial protection.
Florida auto insurance companies will also offer optional coverages such as collision, comprehensive, and uninsured and underinsured motorists coverage.
Sidebar If you are a Florida resident, you might be able to save on your policy premium by visiting Electric Insurance. Their policies are available only to better drivers, whose credit and driving records could be described as being at least good.
The price of Florida auto insurance is decided by the behavior of the state's drivers as a whole. Florida auto insurance companies take the cost of providing insurance for Florida drivers (this includes settlements and legal fees) and divide it up among the drivers.
But these costs aren't spread around evenly. Instead, the percentage you pay is decided by things like your driving record, your age, where you live, and the kind of car you drive.
Of course, not all auto insurance providers figure their percentages the same way. So they'll charge different rates on the same driver.
What this means for you as a driver, is that you need to shop the different rates (and they'll be very different!) for the best deal. It's the fastest easiest way to save on an Florida auto insurance policy.
Where to get Florida auto insurance quotes
The following web sites will help you find Florida car insurance quotes: (these links will open in a new window)
ComparisonMarket is the easiest-to-use and most accurate quotes comparison service, and the place where you are most likely to save big bucks.
This wrebsite provides general information for educational purposes only and is not intended to be legal advice. We make no guarantees as to the validity of the information presented. Your particular facts and circumstances, and changes in the law, must be considered when applying insurance law. You should always consult with a competent auto insurance professional licensed in your state with respect to your particular situation.