Save $300-400 or more with discount rates from all major auto insurance carriers, as well as local companies in Kansas.
It takes just one minute. Enter your zip code to start:
Kansas auto insurance laws
Kansas is a no fault state, which means that every driver must carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. In the event of an accident this policy provides for some of the holder's expenses, regardless of who was at fault in the accident.
In Kansas, the required PIP package includes coverage for:
$4,500 in medical expenses per person $900 per month for loss of income (max. 1 year) $25 per day for in-home assistance $2000 in funeral expenses $4,500 in rehabilitation expenses some loss of income "survivor benefits"
Kansas drivers may only sue for damages if the injuries sustained cost more than $2,000, or meet certain state standards for severity.
Kansas auto insurance laws also require liability coverage, in the amount of 25/50/10. (That's $25,000 per person for injuries you cause to the other party, up to $50,000 for all, and $10,000 for damage you cause to the other party's property.).
Finally, Kansas auto insurance laws require uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage. The minimums on their coverage are 25/50, ($25,000 per person injured, up to $50,000 total). This policy helps cover the cost of your injuries should you be struck by a driver with inadequate liability insurance.
Kansas auto insurance companies will also offer optional coverages such as comprehensive and collision.
Sidebar If you are a Kansas resident, you might be able to save on your policy premium by visiting Electric Insurance. Their policies are available only to better drivers, whose credit and driving records could be described as being at least good.
For better or for worse, the price of Kansas auto insurance is decided by the behavior of the state's drivers as a whole. Kansas auto insurance companies take the cost of insuring Kansas drivers (this includes settlements and legal fees) and divide it up among the drivers.
But the cost isn't spread around evenly. Instead, the percentage you pay is decided by things like your driving record, your age, where you live, and the kind of car you drive.
Of course, not all auto insurance providers figure their percentages the same way. So they'll charge different rates on the same driver.
What this means for you as a driver, is that you need to shop the different rates (and they'll be very different!) for the best deal. It's the fastest easiest way to save on a Kansas auto insurance policy.
Geico - Great for those who can't find other insurance. Be sure to complete the entire quote form!
Get a quote using your ZIP Code to find local and national insurers who offer discounts in your area:
To speed up the process, you might wish to have some information required for an online quote ready before you begin.
More KS car insurance help
If you want more help designing your KS auto insurance policy, read our guide to setting safe and reasonable car insurance coverage levels. It contains loads of money-saving tips, too.
To find out more about KS auto insurance laws and regulations, visit the state's official website of the Kansas Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Insurance Division, or read our short guide to no fault auto insurance.
Want to learn even more?
Take our quick auto insurance course, and learn the step-by-step to get the most out of your auto insurance policy for the least amount money.
This wrebsite provides general information for educational purposes only and is not intended to be legal advice. We make no guarantees as to the validity of the information presented. Your particular facts and circumstances, and changes in the law, must be considered when applying insurance law. You should always consult with a competent auto insurance professional licensed in your state with respect to your particular situation.