Save $300-400 or more with discount rates from all major auto insurance carriers, as well as local companies in Missouri.
It takes just one minute. Enter your zip code to start:
Missouri auto insurance laws
Missouri is a tort state, which means that if you are a resident of the state, you're financially responsible for the damage and injury you cause in an auto accident. To drive a vehicle in Missouri, you're required to show proof of financial responsibility.
You can prove this responsibility by posting a bond or certificate of deposit for $120,000, or by buying a minimum amount of liability coverage. Most drivers opt to buy the Missouri car insurance.
Missouri's liability minimums are 25/50/10. (That's $25,000 per person for injuries you cause to the other party, up to $50,000 for all, and $10,000 for any damage that you cause to the other driver's car and/or property.)
Missouri auto insurance laws also require uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury insurance in the amount of 25/50 ($25,000 per person injured, up to $50,000 total). These coverages help pay for your medical expenses should you be struck by a driver with inadequate liability coverage.
Of course, these are only minimums. Higher liability limits are strongly recommended, particularly if you have assets to protect. And raising your un/underinsured motorist limits can mean a lot more protection for you and your family for little increase in premium cost.
Missouri auto insurance companies will also offer optional coverages such as medical payments, collision, and comprehensive.
Sidebar If you are a Missouri resident, you might be able to save on your policy premium by visiting Electric Insurance. Their policies are available only to better drivers, whose credit and driving records could be described as being at least good.
The price of Missouri auto insurance is decided by the behavior of the state's drivers as a whole. Missouri auto insurance companies take the cost of providing insurance for Missouri drivers (this includes settlements and legal fees) and divide it up among the drivers.
But the cost isn't spread around evenly. Instead, the percentage you pay is decided by things like your driving record, your age, where you live, and the kind of car you drive.
Of course, not all auto insurance providers figure their percentages the same way. So they'll charge different rates on the same driver.
What this means for you as a driver, is that you need to shop the different rates (and they'll be very different!) for the best deal. It's the fastest easiest way to save on an Missouri auto insurance policy.
Where to get Missouri auto insurance quotes
The following web sites will help you find Missouri car insurance quotes: (these links will open in a new window)
ComparisonMarket is the easiest and most accurate quotes comparison service. This is the place where you'll save four hundred bucks.
This wrebsite provides general information for educational purposes only and is not intended to be legal advice. We make no guarantees as to the validity of the information presented. Your particular facts and circumstances, and changes in the law, must be considered when applying insurance law. You should always consult with a competent auto insurance professional licensed in your state with respect to your particular situation.